Awards and Recognition

We Care Solar has been honored by multiple awards since the first year of the organization in 2010.

2024 AARP® Purpose Prize® Award Winner

2022 Energy Globe Award Sierra Leone

2022 Solver in the field of Equitable Health Systems

Future United Multiplier Award Finalist

2022 Miller Center Social Impact Excellence Award

2021 Renewable Transformation Challenge Finalist

2021 Energy Globe World Award, Zimbabwe

Forbes 50 Over 50

eTown eChievement Award

F.M. Kirby Impact Prize 2021 Finalist

Million Lives Club 2020

WISH 2020 Innovation Award

2020 Roddenberry Prize Finalist

ARE Award 2020

Science, Technology, and Innovation for SDGs 2020

Time 100 Best Inventions 2019

Zayed Sustainability Prize 2019

Edison Gold Award Winner 2019

Ashden Award Finalist 2019

UN Momentum for Change: Lighthouse Activities Winner 2017

Drucker Prize Winner 2017

Bloomberg New Energy Pioneers 2017

Lipman Family Prize Winner 2017

Zayed Future Energy Prize Finalist 2017

2016 National Energy Globe Award, Ethiopia

UCSF Alumni Excellence Award 2015

UBS Optimus Award Winner 2015

UN DESA Powering the Future We Want Award 2015

2015 National Energy Globe Award, Eritrea

Sustainia100 Innovative Solution 2014

CNN Top 10 Hero, Dr. Laura Stachel 2013

Department of Energy and MIT C3E Award for Advancements in the Developing World 2012

Oberlin College, Alumni Distinguished Service Award 2012

Katerva Gender Equality Award Winner 2013

UN Association Global Citizen Award 2012

ABC Person of the Week 2011

Nokia Health Award, Tech Museum of Innovation 2011

Green Award, Elle Magazine 2011

Jefferson Award for Public Service, Silver Medalist 2010

Pop! Tech Social Innovators Fellowship 2010

Our Bodies Ourselves Women's Health Heroes Award 2010

Global Social Venture Competition Winner, Social Impact 2010

CITRIS Big Ideas Competition Winner 2010

UC Berkeley Chancellor's Award for Civic Engagement 2010

Ashoka Changemakers' Healthy Mothers, Strong World Winner 2010

Global Social Benefit Incubator Fellow, Santa Clara University 2010