

## WE CARE JOLAR

## Laura Stachel, MD, MPH, DrPH Executive Director and Co-Founder

Dr. Laura Stachel, Co-founder and Executive Director, worked as an obstetrician-gynecologist for 14 years. She holds an MD from the University of California, San Francisco and an MPH (Maternal Child Health) and DrPH from the University of California, Berkeley, School of Public Health. Her 2008 research on maternal mortality in Nigeria alerted her to the deleterious effects of energy poverty on maternal health outcomes. She co-founded We Care Solar with Hal Aronson in 2010 to bring simple solar electric solutions to maternal and child health care facilities in regions without reliable electricity. We Care Solar has equipped more than 8,400 health facilities in over 30 countries with We Care Solar Suitcases®, compact solar energy systems providing essential lighting, medical devices, and solar power. The We Care Solar Suitcase won the 2019 Edison Innovation Award and was selected by TIME Magazine as one of the Best Inventions of 2019. In 2017, We Care Solar launched the international Light Every Birth initiative to ensure every woman can access safe childbirth services, prioritizing African countries with high rates of maternal mortality, including Liberia, Malawi, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Laura is passionate about promoting sustainable energy solutions for women's health care and speaks globally on this topic. She was active in the UN Foundation's Sustainable Energy for All Initiative and co-chaired a Working Group on Energy and Health. Laura was one of the

Top 10 CNN Heroes of 2013. For her work with We Care Solar, Laura has received numerous awards, including the AARP Purpose Prize in 2023, Forbes 50 Over 50, The Miller Center Social Impact Excellence Award in 2022, the 2019 Zayed Sustainability Prize, the 2017 UNFCCC Momentum for Change Award, The 2017 Drucker Innovation Prize, the 2017 Bloomberg New Energy Pioneer Award, the 2015 UN DESA "Powering the Future We Want" Award, the 2015 UBS Optimus Award, the 2015 UCSF Alumni Award, the 2014 Katerva Gender Equality Award, the 2012 Clean Energy, Education and Empowerment Award, the 2012 United Nations Association Global Citizens Award, the 2011 Tech Award, the 2010 Jefferson Award for Public Service, and the 2010 UC Berkeley Chancellor's Award for Civic Engagement.

